Question by marnefirstinfantry: Is a traffic fine of up to ,000 a good idea…Would you/do you support that civil penalty against drivers?
Virginians Face $ 3,000 Traffic Ticket
By Dennis Cauchon,USA Today
Posted: 2007-07-01 15:18:05
Filed Under: Law, Nation
(July 1) – Virginia is for lovers, or so the state slogan has declared since 1969. Starting today, Virginia also will be the home of the $ 3,000 traffic ticket. In an effort to raise money for road projects, the state will start hitting residents who commit serious traffic offenses with huge civil penalties.
The new civil charges range from $ 750 to $ 3,000 and be added to existing fines and court costs. The civil penalty for going 20 mph over the speed limit will be $ 1,050, plus $ 61 in court costs and a fine that is typically about $ 200.
Virginia’s traffic law is one of several thousand new state laws that take effect Sunday. Jan. 1 and July 1 are the most popular dates for state laws to become official.
July 1 is especially popular for new taxes and fees because it’s the start of the budget year in 46 states. For example, Arkansas will cut its sales tax on groceries from 6% to 3% Sunday.
Virginia’s new traffic penalties are expected to raise $ 65 million a year and are part of an effort to improve the state’s roads without raising taxes.
A first-time drunken driver will face a $ 2,250 civil penalty, plus fines and court costs that typically run about $ 500 or more. Driving without a license? That’s a mandatory $ 900 civil penalty, in addition to the ordinary $ 100 for a fine and court costs.
“It’s outrageous,” says traffic court attorney Thaddeus Furlong of Springfield, Va. “When Mr. and Mrs. Middle Class find out what they have to pay, there’s going to be a backlash like you’ve never seen.”
Some other states impose extra civil penalties for traffic offenses, but the cost is usually $ 100 or $ 200, Furlong says. “What sets this apart is the Draconian size of the civil penalties,” he says.
Another difference: The civil penalties apply only to Virginia residents, not out-of-state drivers. Virginians must pay in three installments over 26 months or lose their licenses. The state Legislature didn’t think it could enforce the extra penalties in other states.
Motorist club AAA Mid-Atlantic supports the new penalties.
Answer by gandamack2
well,Im a death penalty for parking violations kinda guy so Im all for it…just SLOW DOWN..geeze
Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!