West Virginia Workers Compensation?

Question by Chad C: West Virginia Workers Compensation?
I was recently injured on the job for a city police department. My chief persuaded me not to file a comp claim. Now I have insurance wanting to kick back all the cost in my name for the injury. It has been about 6 months since the injury.
I was recently injured on the job at a city police department. I broke 3 metatarsals while training. My police chief persuaded me that I should not file comp because insurance will pay for the injury. This was true until recently I received a letter stating that the claim was work related and that the insurance company beleives it is not their responsibility. It has been about 6 months since the injury. I still have pain in my foot after being on it for an extended time. Can I still make a claim? Should I have legal representation? I do not want to have my credit destroyed because of a large sum of money in my name for this injury.

Best answer:

Answer by mbrcatz
SERIOUSLY? What your chief did is completely illegal. Your agreeing to it, is also illegal. Cops, breaking the law? Sorry, you both need to get fired – NO ONE is “above the law”, which is how you two were acting.

Yes, your health insurance won’t cover it at all.

You sure can try to file that claim, but there are going to be lots of repurcussions – because the employer is required to file a notice with the State Labor Board within 3 – 5 days of the injury, or be heavily fined. To get this covered, you’re going to need to explain to the insurance company, that you and your boss both failed to follow both the law and the procedures. I have no idea what the ramifications of that will be – yes, your bills should end up getting paid, but there WILL be consequences.

Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!

Comments are closed.